eclipse blizzard eyes

DAWNoftheLEO

Yes, genetically different.

I do believe they are quite variable on offspring of snake or solid eyed blizzards.. This is my first year working with blizzards and the eye mutation. Sorry I couldn't be of more help :)

paulnj

I have a 1.4 of snow blizz that are normal eyed and snake eyed. when bred they throw all 3 eye types randomly.

Last edited:
D

Drunvalo

i have heard the eyes are random. except maybe with raptors....

JGoslee

Thats good to know. I've been looking to get a pair and I haven't seen any with 2 solid black eyes. I guess they're the ones everybody is keeping for themselves.

godzillizard

Try not to think of it as a gene, because it's just not that simple--I like to think of it as more of a possible 'side effect' than a trait, in and of itself.

If you breed solid eyed blizzard to solid eyed blizzard, you'll have the best odds at producing black eyed offspring. But if you really want to make black eyed blizzards, consider using Mack snow. Then your super snow blizzards would have the blackest possible eyes, plus, the non-supers would have the best chance at having solid black eyes. I love my super blizzards! :) they remind of great white sharks--2 tone body-grey on top with a white belly, and those jet black eyes...simple, elegant beautiful...

Gazz

JGoslee said:
Are the solid black eyes on blizzards different than eclipse eyes? And can you breed blizzards to always have solid black eyes?