AMAZING results

got spots?

leo lover
I accidentally confused wheat bran and wheat flour. So long story short I have housed my mealworms on wheat flour for about a month or two. The results are amazing! only about 3 or so died out of a 1000. Also the puapae ARE HUGE!! maybe 2-3x the size of my other ones. I admit not all of them were huge but geeze.. I don't know if the wheat flour affected this or not. But i'd recommend trying it at least once. What is the worst that can happen? You use $3 to house 7ish cages of mealworms that all grow normally? :main_thumbsup:

T-ReXx

Uroplatus Fanatic
I've been using wheat flour with my mealies for about 6 months now and I agree, the change has been quite noticeable. It's easier to sift, much easier for small larva to eat, and cheap and easy to find. The only issue I have with it is the mess it can make. It's basically the same thing as wheat bran, anyways, just in powdered form. I totally recommend it as well.

RampantReptiles

Is it very dusty? I have problems with the dust of the substrate. I almost always have an allergic reaction after sifting. Mostly just runny nose but sometimes asthmatic/slight trouble breathing and it really sucks. My reaction is no where near what it used to be but that could be because I was working at a place that was SUPER dusty and so my defenses were low.

I also thought that mixing different types of flour other than wheat might make it more nutritious. My mom is allergic to wheat so has all kinds of different flours like potato flour, rice flour, etc. Yay gluten free! This would make it more expensive but might be nice to try.

RampantReptiles

Im not sure what he got but "regular flour" is bleached. It is a white color and as far as Im concerned unhealthy. I assume he has unbleached wheat flour which is a brownish color if im not mistaken. Its like the difference between white and wheat bread.

got spots?

leo lover