Breeder question

rchase54

Hugh Hefner of Leos
I was thinking of getting into breeding, and I was wondering how much you can make as a breeder (after upkeep expenses)

rchase54

Hugh Hefner of Leos
Hahaha thanks for the information sir. I don't think the price would get in the way for me, unless I'm really strapped for cash. I was just curious if any money could be made from it. I love the little guys and I want to start breeding sometime

Tony C

Wayward Frogger
I'm not a sir, I work for a living. :main_laugh: It takes a lot of time, effort, and luck to actually make money breeding, you are better off approaching it as a hobby that may help sustain itself to some degree. There's an old saying, the best way to make a small fortune in reptiles is to start with a large one. :D

rchase54

Hugh Hefner of Leos
I don't necessarily care if I make money. I just wanna see all the different kinds of 'em and spread the leo world to new owners. I just don't want it to bankrupt me XD Any advice on a setup for a new breeder?

Tony C

Wayward Frogger
Take your time, learn the genetics and pick top quality breeding stock. Too many people rush in and breed whatever they can get from the local pet shop, then wind up stuck with offspring that nobody wants.

rickmoss95