Breeding questions

Enigmatic_Reptiles

Quality is Everything
you cross them by breeding parents of different genetics together. I am not sure what exactly you are trying to figure out. It all boils down to mode of inheritance, genetics the breeders have, and the possibility of genetics lining up for your desired effect.

DoubleAGeckos

Like let's say you have a Mack snow het tremper but you want to breed it to a bell how do you get the tremper out?

TokayKeeper

Evil Playsand User
I'm going to be flat honest, blunt if you will...

I've been trying to wrap my brain around this on how you would breed to remove the tremper albino trait. I love genetics, reptiles, and biology, which are a few reasons why I have a degree in biology. My fiancée went the microbiology route, and she too loves genetics.

That in mind, our best answer we can come up with is to buy a bell albino and a mack snow to acheive what you're after in your example.

By test crossing all you'll accomplish is confirming that your mack snow het tremper is indeed het tremper. A test cross takes the unknown (which in this case is known...het tremper) and crosses it with a homozygous recessive (tremper albino). If you get any albino offspring, you've then confirmed it's heterozygous for Tremper albino. If you produce no albinos, well then all you have is a mack snow and now a whole bunch of offspring that are normals and mack snows that are het Tremper albino. This defeats what you're attempting to do: remove the Tremper trait.

The other means is outcrossing, but what that does is actually migrates the recessive trait through the population. Dominant traits would be easier to remove from a given population through outcrossing, accompanied with line-breeding and inbreeding as one can still see the expression of the traits. Outcrossing is typically done to restore vigor into a line.