Do leos NEED a humid hide?

Blacksupra94

Honestly I have not used a humid hide in about 6 months with my leo and she has not had one problem shedding even in the winter months. Last year when I did have the humid hide I had to take her to the vet a couple of times for shed in the eye, there were few rough spots back in that set up. I do spray her down with reptile shedding aid once ever few days and if I see her about to shed. Her cage has many rough surface areas which I suppose help her get the shed off easily. Does anybody else not have a " humid hide" or am I just getting lucky.

Reborn

IMO yes they do. That way they can choose to go in it or get away from it. Remember leos come from dry areas. Ive never had issues with any of my geckos and shedding. Thats just me.

fl_orchidslave

There's a lot of commercial products in pet shops that say they do lots of things. Some are okay, some aren't worth a flip. I would rather follow the advice of tried and true methods used by professional animal breeders with decades of experience standing behind them. My leopard geckos all have humid hides.

roger

Honestly I have not used a humid hide in about 6 months with my leo and she has not had one problem shedding even in the winter months. Last year when I did have the humid hide I had to take her to the vet a couple of times for shed in the eye, there were few rough spots back in that set up. I do spray her down with reptile shedding aid once ever few days and if I see her about to shed. Her cage has many rough surface areas which I suppose help her get the shed off easily. Does anybody else not have a " humid hide" or am I just getting lucky.

leos dont use the humid hide just to shed.they need the dampness also to get awat from the warm end

Jordan

some of my gecko's dont have one, but most of them do.
The ones that dont have them are ones that shed apsolutely fine with no trouble at all, they get some occasional misting.

STUTFL