My female leo is not eating since i got her! help please

travis21v4

I went to exotic pets in las vegas and picked up two leopard geckos. I bought 1 male and 1 female, but the female I am guessing was already gravid. I candled her about two days after buying her and there is definitely two eggs inside the belly, but now she will not touch food. She has a fat tail and I placed a little bowl of powder for her to lick. What else can I do? I'm sorry I am brand new to leo's only had them about a week, I am more of a tarantula guy =\.

Attachments

• IMG_0369.jpg
    IMG_0369.jpg
    110 KB · Views: 11
Last edited:

Neon Aurora

I wouldn't be too concerned yet. I have often had leopard geckos that won't eat for over a month after being moved. Plus, gravid females often don't eat until they lay their eggs and then start eating like pigs until the next clutch starts to develop.

I would recommend separating the male and female. Males can often be overzealous about breeding and stress the female out in confined spaces.

Just make sure she has the proper temperatures provided by a UTH, access to calcium, and a proper lay box to lay her eggs in.

travis21v4

Would you be so kind as to point me in a direction as to how to create this lay box? I do apologize as I am new so that might be a retarded question.

travis21v4

Now I am really lost... I just grabbed her and lifted her to candle her and there is no more white spot on left or right side? Would the male eat the eggs? And to candle them what way do you shine the light on her, directly on the belly or from the back?

Neon Aurora

Making a lay box is very easy. =) All you need to do is take a Tupperware, cut an entrenched hole in either the lid or near the top of the container. The container should be a couple of inches deep. You can then fill it with something like Eco Earth. Keep it moist and there you go. You should have something like this anyways because leopard geckos need to moisture to properly shed.