Quick Question(s)! heating pad vs. repticarpet?

n3wport

Im just trying to get it right ASAP. There is a leopard gecko that is very skinny in the back of this Aquarium store. Im going to try to get them to give me him for a discounted price, but I want to get the cage and everything set up first, and correctly.

I am new to Leopard Geckos, and I have the whole bearded dragon type mentality with ya know, all the lights and such. I am going to buy an "Ultratherm Heat Pad" for my 20 gallon. What would be a good size for that? Half the tank floor, correct?

Also, in conjunction with this heating pad, should I use a low wattage light?

Do you keep the heating pad on even during night? I have read that a repti-glo moon bulb is good for night (not a red color, more so blueish)

I've read in a few places that Repti-carpet is fine, and in other its 'horrible'. What do you use with your heating pad (I do not like sand, so hopefully something other than sand or paper towels) I was hoping tiles would still work without blocking heat to the surface. But honestly I like repti-carpet.. hmm

Let me know what kind of lights / heating pads you guys use! Remember, I have a 20 gallon (long) :)

Thanks so much for your time!

Last edited:

hamby92

for heat mats 1/3rd of the tanks floor is the general rule. you can use a light with a timer if your tank doesnt have accsess to light from a window to provide the nessecary photo period. you should keep the heat mat on 24/7 and you can use a heat bulb if the temps arent high enough. as for the substrate i would highly recomend tiles i used to use repticarpet but its harder to clean and the tiles will radiate the heat from the heat mat just make sure you have thermometer with a probe laying on top of the substrate to make the sure the temps are right. as for the gecko i would make sure it looks healthy before you buy it never buy a sick looking gecko just because you feel bad for it as it could turn into a huge exspense

n3wport