Cages next to each other..

Chosen010

FANATiC
I rescued an albino leo over the weekend and have set up his new cage next to my first leo's cage. Today I noticed that my first leo was on the cold side trying to climb the wall of the cage. He/she is an unsexed juvi but seems VERY interested in the other leo for some reason.

The rescue is, I'm told, about two years old. A tad overweight and I haven't attempted to sex it yet either. I wanted to give it time to adjust before handling.

Is this normal behavior or is there possible an opposite sex attraction going on?

Thanks in advance..

Chosen010

FANATiC
I have not invested in a scale yet. I have had it for approximately 3.5 months... it's a pet shop leo, as I didn't understand all that I do now when I decided to get into this as a hobby.

I'm fairly new to leo's but try to read as much as possible and am on these forums more than anything. I figured if anyone knew, someone here would :)..

Chosen010

FANATiC
I can certainly move the cages. They're not exactly side by side, but probably 6-8 inches apart and one slightly elevated more than the other. Original cage is a 20 long on a stand and the new cage is a med exo-terra 18x18x18 that sits up on my desk.

I'm curious why that's not considered a proper quarantine? Not doubting you, just curious.

M_surinamensis

Shillelagh Law
Because it's within the kind of distance that some parasites and most insects can travel and close enough that cross-contamination of bacterial and viral agents is possible.

Don't get me wrong, it's not the kind of situation where someone gets a rescue and just drops it in a tank with their existing pet that same day... it's just still a bit risky.