is this right?

andrew444

hi im new to leopard geckos and wanted to make sure everything was alrite so this is my setup
40 gallon tank
repti carpet
3 hides 2 moist hides
digital thermometer on warm and cool side
a red bulb with dimmer to adjust temps
uth ofcoarse
water dish food dish and calcium dish
driftwood
and then the leopard gecko

as for feeding i feed crickets dusted with plain calcium i dust with d3 once a week i also keep plain calcium in his tank at all times....then for temps i keep the warm side 90-94 and the cool side 75-80...sound alright?

5HiddenLizards

Tight Budget Herping
Everything sounds good! Some people might object to the use of repti carpet, but just observe your gecko & make sure he doesn't seem to have any problems walking on it.

{Sent from Samsung Epic via Tapatalk}

OnlineGeckos

Looks like you got it all setup right. Next time when you are going to clean the tank fully, probably in a month or two, look to see if you can replace the repti carpet with slate or ceramic tiles. They will make your tank look a lot more natural, a lot easier to clean, absolutely no impaction risk, and your leopard geckos won't get the teeth & toes caught on the carpet.

OnlineGeckos

It conducts heat very well, even though it does seem thicker than the carpet :)

Your repti carpet will do just fine for now, don't worry about it too much. I used repti carpet for almost 2 months before I switched to slate tiles. It was disheartening to see my leopard geckos get their teeth stuck on the carpet while they ate. It didn't hurt them though. But the ease of cleaning is night & day when changing from carpet to tiles.

Last edited:

OnlineGeckos

Yeah that helps, but there are also horror stories of geckos losing toes if they can't get unstuck. So it's a chance you'll have to take by using repti carpet.

fl_orchidslave