Votes: 0 0.0%
  • You should rethink 6+ problems

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

calabarpythonlover2

Hi Everybody!
I am new to geckos so i just want to know if my setup is good
this is my setup for my 7 month old female super hypo carrot tail leopard gecko
I am using a 15 gallon aquarium from the pet store(the dimensions are 24"x12"x12")
I am using a zoomed 10-20 gallon undertank heater to keep the warm side about 91 degrees fahrenheit (i used a probe thermometer)
then i have a 50 watt infrared heat bulb to keep the ambient temperature about 75-80 degrees fahrenheit
then i am using a paper towel substrate
with one hide on the warm side and a moist hide on the cool side
i also have a couple of paper towel rolls in the cage for hiding and climbing
then i have a calcium dish with pure calcium in it
a feeding dish for the mealworms and a water dish
im sorry that i dont have any pictures

Last edited:

gitrdone0420

Gotta catch 'em all!
Lets see... I typically keep my temperatures around 95-97*F. I think that 91 is a little under where I would like to see it.
As far as hides, my preference is to have a moist hide, cool hide and a warm hide = 3 total. I suppose two would suffice, three is just my preference. I also find that paper towel rolls and such are just a little too dull... I like to decorate the tanks with a theme of some sort and put decorations in it that pertain to that... like tropical, or desert, etc.
These are all just my opinions and your leo could certainly do fine in your set up. I am just throwing out ideas.

LizMarie

I think your set up is perfectly fine.

I personally like my temps to be around 94 but with leos there is an on going debate on what temps are best but anything between 88-97 seems to be constant and you fall between that range so whatever you feel works well for you.

Congrats on your new gecko!

Angel