New and have a few questions

Shera

Hi everyone, I'm new to leopard geckos, and already (as of today) own 2, but their vivarium isn't fully set up as it needs to be (which I know isn't a good thing, but you can read my story here: http://geckoforums.net/showthread.php?t=54436

I have a couple of question. First, I got a Exo terra heat wave desert undertank heating pad, but I was unable to find a thermostat to regulate it. Right now I just have paper towel down, but I have some ceramic tile (left over from doing the bathroom), and my intention was to do a layer of sand and then the tile on top completely covering the sand so they can't get at it. My question is: Do I truly need a thermostat, or can I experiment with sand depths to find the optimum temperature? I am certainly willing to search far and wide to find a thermostat if I need one. Right now I'm using a red IR heat lamp and the dumb heat rock that I got with them. I want that rock out of there now, but I don't want to kill them by over heating them with a UTH without a thermostat, or freezing them, so the heatrock (which they have successfully used for 2yrs without burns, but I know can malfunction at any given time), is a stopgap measure. Does anyone else here use a UTH without a thermostat?

My second question is, how do I gutload the crickets and meal worms that I bought? Do I just stick them in a container with the special food 24 hrs before using them? Do I need to feed them something else until then? How long do they last without food before being gutloaded? I really know nothing about this part, lol.

Thanks in advance :)

Angel