new gecko; new to everything, so give me advice plz?

tiedxupxinxknots

Animated Geckos
ello, im kinda new to leopard geckos and i just got my sunglow enigma today, i also bought a zilla carpet liner, a hide, and a Zoo Med Repti-Therm UTH Under Tank Heaters because i heard that lighting hurts the geckos eyes and stresses them but im not sure if i placed it correctly i just put it under the tank and i dont have a thermometer so i dont know the exact temparature but i think the carpet liner absorbs some of the heat also im not sure if it can get too hot so is any2 familiar with this uth and is there anyway to control the exact temparature of it? next the cold side is room temperature so it can go from 76-80 and im not sure if thats too cold, another question i have is that i got Repta-Calcium Dietary Supplement from flukers and it has d3 i heard that geckos can overdose on that so im only going to shake the mealworms once a week with it but it doesnt stick well what do u guys use? also my set up is a 10 gal tank i believe and my gecko is about 2 months old and im planning to move her to a bigger tank soon so what would u guys recommend me putting in the new tank? any help would b appreciated!!! C:

OnlineGeckos

Congrats on your new leopard gecko :)

You have the UTH setup right, it goes under the tank, on the outside. You should have it on one side of the tank, so there is temperature gradient inside. Your leo will decide whether he wants to go to the warm side or cool side.

You will want to get a digital thermometer with a probe, so you can lay the probe on the carpet to test the temperature on the carpet. Leopard geckos use belly heat to warm up and digest their food, so it's not the air temperature you want to know, it's the carpet temperature.

You can control your temperature by buying a thermostat. You can find them in petstores or online shops.