New to geckos...help with terrerium please

J

Julio

I am new to geckos, but I have had a beardy for 5 years. Here is my tank:

DSCN3772.jpg

DSCN3774.jpg

(yes it is a little odd that I still share a room and bunkbed with my brother despite being 18....)

SO. The stats:

12"x12"x24" Tank with mesh lid.
1 small heating rock (covered by substrate to prevent burning)
Brown turf substrate from the petstore.
1 large den
1 small den (the female get's the big one :p)
1 100watt bulb in housing.

Now, from what I hear, I should not be using a bulb at all because it could blind them. Is this true or just rumours? The guy at the petstore sold it to me....and I'm pretty sure there was a leopard gecko on the box... Anyways, I wouldn't mind getting a heating pad and getting my money back for the 40-fricken-dollar lamp housing. Since they are nocturnal, I am assuming they don't need light, but I'm not sure if light regulates their sleeping patterns or not. Ah. Sleeping. About that....

Since I got them two days ago, all they've done is sleep(?) in their little caves(day AND night :/). Is this normal? I dusted some mealworms and put them in a dish for them to snack on, but they didn't go for it. The dish has lots of the powder in it as well (I heard it's always good to have a dish of powder and that they will will know when they need more). Are they just stressed because of the new home, or is this just how leo's are? they also havn't drinken from their water dish....

Sir Cornelius is very friendly and doesn't struggle (much) when I handle him. Minerva however, runs. She will literally try to jump out of my hands and dash. For this reason I have only held her once...she wouldn't even do a proper photoshoot :( Why is she so feisty?