NEWB with conerns - Help Dog Shrink!

ncbeast

NEWB with housing concerns

Originally Posted by ncbeast
OK, I am new at this and bought a year old male off of craigslist and have the 10 gal set up just like the previous owner. The leo looks very healthy, about 7" long and a very fat tail. Have a UTH on the far right side and a regular 75 watt soft white bulb on that side that runs for 12 hours. Stick on dial thermometer half way up the back wall on that side read about 92 during the day and I about 70 at night. Bought a proub thermometer and have it on the floor right over the UTH and under the wet box and during the day it stays around 87 and then 77 at night on the floor. There is a red cfl 13 watt that is on all the time as will (just so it does not have to have a timer or have to manually turn it on when the day light bulb turns off, no heat from it though). Oh yeah the substraight we are using is just think brown paper cut to fit the bottom. Previous owner was using paper towels but we wanted something that looked more like his natural envirnment so we found a big rool of this paper in the paint department at Wal-Mart. We cut out additional squares for the poop corner and just replace that when needed. Afraid if we put tile down the heat would be even less so we are sticking with the paper in this tank.

The moment the day light bulb turns off (red light still on) he comes out from his cool hide and goes to the warm hide, and stays on that side most of the night climbing around a little and laying on his belly and in the moist hide, all on the warm side. As soon as the day light bulbs come on in the morning he goes to the cool hide and stays there all day sleeping.