thoughts on exterra 18x18x18

M

mushraeddur

I am new to this pet and have been reading through the forums a lot lately trying to prepare myself properly. I have learned a lot already, but I know I have much more to learn. Anyways, I will be getting a leo for my 9 year old son (from Sanata). I know I'll be helping with care quite a bit since temperature and such is so important to their health.

We have a limited amount of space to place a tank. He has a small table that will hold this 18x18x18 tank perfectly. The table and room aren't really suited for the longer 20 gallon tank (and I don't want the much smaller 10 gallon tank). I also thought the front doors would be a plus for my son and I to clean the tank when needed.

From what I've ready this should be a good amount of space overall for 1 leo (which is all we plan to have).

Some questions I have regarding the tank:

1. What are your thoughts on the tank? (I know it's pricey, but the size is perfect for the table and room in which it will be residing).

2. Should I get UTH for the tank? If so, what size is ideal for this size tank so that I will have a cool side available for the leo? I already bought a deep dome heat lamp, a 100w red heat bulb, and a stand to hang the lamp that is adjustable. (The room does stay a little cool...we keep our thermostat for the house set at 68 and I suspect the room temp may be a degree or 2 cooler).