Fat tail VS leopard

Coretta

Hi :) I'm pretty new to all this and I've never owned a gecko yet

I applied to adopt a rescued leopard gecko who is blind in one eye. They havn't emailed me back yet though (I sent email yesterday) But I was looking on craigslist just to see what they have and I found a fat tailed gecko and was wondering what their needs are. The gecko comes with everything for 50$. I am wondering is I should even bother getting him, imo he looks skinny but I posted this for your opinions on his health (on whether I should get him, cause he looks skinny, and Im new to this so maybe thats just how they look!) But are the care requirments for a leopard gecko simliar to a fat tailed?

Hope this pic works:
34j3pu8.jpg

Thanks for any help :D

Coretta

Oh, Im not saying Im not going to research them personally (I am! :p) I'm just wondering based off your experiences.

Coretta

And um yes I realized that this may sound confusing. First off I don't know how to edit anything so Im jsut posting replies.

Second, I am mainly intrested in adopting animals that need help, so if he is healthy healthy I won't bothering emailing them. I just don't like seeing them starve so yeah.. And thrid I'd have his own tank not with my leopard gecko ;)

Okay now I'll stop replying :D

Taquiq

JK Herp
I have Leopard Geckos so I prefer them. But I'm looking to get a Fat Tail soon.

acpart

Geck-cessories
Staff member
It's hard to make out the picture of the fat tail, but I notice that though the body is a bit skinny, the tail is not only pretty fat, but is a complete tail (it seems that lots more fat tails lose their tails than leopard geckos). I can't tell you which of your choices needs rescuing more, but I do have both leopard geckos and fat tails. The main differences are the following:
--fat tails need more humidity than leopard geckos, so could use some misting a few times a week
--fat tails are much more reluctant to eat worms and usually eat crickets