Housing Question

trigger1121

I'm a total noob at this so don't bash me too hard for the questions. I built an enclosure for a Mali Uromastyx I used to own a few years ago. The enclosure is 48"L x 17"W x 16"T. My first question is if this is too big for a Leopard Gecko? Second question is how do you recommend I heat this? For the Uro, I want to say I used a 100w basking lamp and a 75w red nocturnal lamp with a UV flourecent light inside.

2010-11-07-17-55-38-736.jpg

0829072039.jpg

T-ReXx

Uroplatus Fanatic
No such thing as too much room. ;) I'd say a leopard gecko would really enjoy the space.

As far as heating goes, you can try a couple of routes. You could try putting a heat pad under the tile, as attached to the outside I don't think it would maintain temps through the wood. You could also use a lamp or a ceramic heat emitter. You don't want a basking bulb, leos are nocturnal and don't like bright lights. UVB also isn't necessary. A red bulb would work, whatever method you choose, you want a 90F warm area on the floor with a cool end for a temp gradient. Leos don't need it nearly as hot as Uromastyx do, so less wattage would be the way to go.

trigger1121

Thanks for the quick reply! Is the heating mat or the heat emitter a better option? I want to go all out and do it right. Also I was thinking about putting carpet down over the tile. Yes or No? I was thinking that the carpet would ease the cleaning processes.

Jordan

carpet is your own personal preference i suppose. But a UTH and maybe a light would be fine to get a good temp and gradient.

However in that size of enclosure i'd recommend an adult. Massive emounts of space can be very daunting to hatchlings and small leo's.

T-ReXx

Uroplatus Fanatic
I'd say the heat mat would be the better route for a leopard gecko. Personally, I don't like repticarpet, I find it easy for leo claws to get caught in it, I just do paper towels if it were me.

Yeah an adult would be a good idea, it is a little big for a baby.