Leo breeding?

maverickgrl79

can some one give me a website that is good to learn about breeding Leos? I have a local mom pop pet shop that said if i have some babies they will buy them from me and i have never done this before. i wanna make sure i do it right.

maverickgrl79

How much did you get yours for? Most times, you will only get like $10 out of the low end babies that you sell to retail, and it isn't really worth your time, and the incubator costs unless you breed lots of them, or breed good morphs. To set up the incubator and have all the substrate and deli cups, it will probably cost ~$100.

http://www.albeysreptiles.com/incubate-eggs.htm
it is not about the money i was just happy to know i had somewhere for the babies to go. r u saying i can not get good morphs from what i have? anyway thanks for the info.

Caleb C

You might get some decent morphs, but to get expensive morphs, you need to start out with expensive geckos.
The bad thing about selling it off to pet shops is that most of the time they won't receive proper care, neither at the pet store or at the new owner. I'm guessing that ~80-90% of reptiles sold at pet stores will be neglected, and most likely slowly die within a year or two. If you want to breed them and have somewhere good for the babies to go, sell them to your friends, relatives, and local people.
I've never bred them because the females storm the sperm, so you can't just stop them from laying whenever you feel like it.

Caleb C

Sorry if I came off as a little mean, I just wanted to let you know that selling to retail pet stores isn't the best idea, but if you have the extra time and money, breeding them can be a fun project for you and your son.

Josh2

Administrator
Staff member
3 Year Member
This is a good website to find more information on how to breed Leos! :) ;) We have breeders here that can answer your questions directly from their experience

Eve Saint