New Fatty Owner

R

RJ87

So I'm new to the gecko world. I am the happy owner of an African Fat Tailed Gecko and I'm looking for some good newbie tips from people who actually own/have owned one. I keep mine in a 10 gal tank, with a heat pad and lamp (not sure if I need one or the other, so a few opinions would be nice), along with a hide and some artificial plant life, also with a decent sized small pool.

Humidity: What percentage do you guys usually house yours at? How often do you mist?

Food: What do you feed your fatty beyond the regular meal worm and cricket? What do you use to gut feed your crickets? (Brand names you trust please)

Lighting: How long do you keep your heat lamp on? Do you switch between a red light and regular light? Do you use a heat pad along with the light?

Any other helpful tips you wish you would have known when you started taking care of your Fatty?

acpart

Geck-cessories
Staff member
Welcome to GF and congratulations on your new fattie. Here's my take on your questions:

Humidity: What percentage do you guys usually house yours at? How often do you mist?

I don't worry about measuring humidity. I mist nearly daily because I have live plants and some of my fatties have enjoyed licking water droplets

Food: What do you feed your fatty beyond the regular meal worm and cricket? What do you use to gut feed your crickets? (Brand names you trust please)

I feed only crickets because that's about all they'll eat. I use progeckos gutload for the crickets and dust them with Repashy's calcium plus.

Lighting: How long do you keep your heat lamp on? Do you switch between a red light and regular light? Do you use a heat pad along with the light?