Preparing for a new gecko

dremanjon

I'm new to reptiles and I had some questions regarding preparing the cage for my new leopard gecko. This might be a long post :main_lipsrsealed:

I've purchased a 40 gallon breeder tank and was wondering if it would be too big for a juvi leopard gecko? I'm still not sure if I'm going to buy an adult or juvi leo but I'm just asking in advance!

For the substrate I was going to go with slate tiles with ultrafine sand underneath, and since the tank's inside measurements would be around 35.625 inches by 17.625 inches, I was just going to get 10 6"x6" slate tiles and use small rocks on the edges of the tank where the sand would be exposed, or 2 12"x12" and 2 6"x6" for less tiles to remove.

For the UTH I have the Medium (10"x11") ExoTerra Heatwave.. but I'm not sure if it's big enough for the 40 gallon tank? I was planning on buying a light dimmer from Lowes/Home Depot for the UTH to adjust the temperature so I wouldn't have to use as much sand underneath.

For calcium and supplements I bought Rep Cal (Calcium, Calcium with D3, and Herptivite Multivitamin).

Temperature management I have a Zilla Thermometer-Hygrometer and an infrared thermometer.

Red 60w lightbulb, water/food/calcium dish, 3 hides in which one will be a tupperware container with a cutout and will have moss inside. the 3 hides will be dispersed in all 3 heat gradiants (cold, warm, hot) with moist hide in the warm heat gradient?

I was wondering if I had to clean/sanitize anything (including the tank itself) before I purchased my leo? I already know I have to clean/sanitize the tile but I'm not sure about anything else. Also I would like to know how I would go about sanitizing and with what.

I also bought an automatic timer that goes into the outlet that controls appliances but I dont think I will need that except for maybe the nightlight, but even then I dont think I would need it since the lamp has an on/off switch.