Prime conditions for a baby/juvenile leo

Diggs27

Hello there; newbie here looking at getting a young leo within the next week or so; and seen so many different things online whle researching. What is the proper range as far as temp and humidityt for young leopard geckos? I have seen anywhere from 88 on hot side to about 98-99 on the hot side hide. What have you other leo owners found to be the best for stimulating growth and health in babies and juveniles?? I am only asking this because I am sure that I will be able to provide the leo with the right housing conditions to ensure proper health.

acpart

Geck-cessories
Staff member
Most people are going for at least 92 (floor) on the hot side. Some people do say that they get good results at higher temps but I think 92-95 should do it. THat's a good way to start and will definitely not harm a baby. Once you've had it for awhile, if it seems active (babies may spend a lot of time hiding out; that's not unusual) and is eating an pooping, you're OK with the temps

Aliza

Diggs27

OK; got a 10 gallon glass aquarium with a Zilla carpet as my substrate.....purchased a zoo med UTH today; set it up at approximately 5 o'clock tonight and right now; the temp is reading 99.8 -100.1 degrees F with a zoo-med thermometer w/ probe. Is this too hot now; and if so; what can I do to knock temp down a little. I have not purchased the leo yet as I want to have correct temp for the guy before putting him in there. Was looking at the different dimmers and thermostats; but kinda clueless on what one may be better than the other.

Diggs27

Just came across this dimmer control online; and was thinking maybe this will help to regulate temp a little; but unsure if it will actually work to knock temp down; what would you suggest??

http://www.truevalue.com/product/Credenza-300W-Lamp-Dimmer-White/20283.uts?keyword=dimmers[/URL]

Diggs27