Ron Tremper's Dusting Replacement

Samantha12

Ron Tremper just posted a video to his facebook suggesting leopard geckos be offered vitamin supplements in their enclosure at all times in place of dusting feeders. What are everyone's thoughts on that? I'd love to give up dusting because it tends to be time-consuming and does seem arbitrary sometimes.
Vitamin Power 101 - YouTube

OnlineGeckos

I'm sticking with dusting routine, it's more practical and ensures the geckos get what they need. I don't subscribe to the idea that they will only ingest what they need. There are cases of D3 overdose from those that leave calcium with D3 inside their tanks. Which is why most recommend against having D3 inside leopard gecko's tanks.

Also some have suggested that certain vitamins do not get absorbed properly when ingested without food. It sort of makes sense, but I'm no expert on that subject. I think people should realize that some things large scale breeders do are for mere convenience. Dusting feeders for large scale breeders that have hundreds if not thousands of geckos likely isn't practical to them. But this doesn't mean general hobbyists or small scale breeders should follow those practices for optimal care.

Just my opinion, and I do respect Ron and hold high regards of him. :main_thumbsup:

stager

I tried leaving in cage my first breeding and most eggs didn't make it, I believe calcium def. was the culprit. Started dusting and no problems since.

DrCarrotTail