Substrate?..and a few other questions..

CanuckLeo

Hi, I am new to geckos and reptiles in general.I just got a leopard gecko on Monday. I currently have tile as my substrate in my 20 gallon. I was wondering do you think repticarpet would be better than tile ? Also since i have got him he has only eaten one meal worm is this normal ? Also i was wondering should i have a dish with calcium in the tank or is dusting his food enough ? I noticed the warm side of the tank at night drops to around 70 f is this an alright temp or do i need a nightglow light to keep the temp up ? sorry for all the questions :p i appreciate your help.

geckonewbie213

keep the tile, it heats better than the carpet, i use tile in my 20 long and it works perfectly. i would put a dish in there as long as dusting just incase. i have a night lamp just to keept he temp above 70 but i feel like that might be a preference. is your leo eating crickets? or has it just eaten one meal worm and thats it?

acpart

Geck-cessories
Staff member
Hi, I am new to geckos and reptiles in general.I just got a leopard gecko on Monday. I currently have tile as my substrate in my 20 gallon. I was wondering do you think repticarpet would be better than tile ?

I also think tile is better. Geckos can get their nails or teeth caught on the carpet (and it's a pain to clean)

Also since i have got him he has only eaten one meal worm is this normal ?

It's not unusual for a gecko in a new place to take awhile before it starts eating. Be sure that it was fed mealworms before, because it may prefer crickets. Most of the big chain petstores seem to feed mealworms and crickets.

Also i was wondering should i have a dish with calcium in the tank or is dusting his food enough ?

The gecko should be getting calcium, vitamin D3 and other vitamins. Some people leave a dish of calcium (without D3) in the tank. I no longer do that because I'm dusting with Repashy calcium plus which supplies everything.