"Thermoregulatory temperature"

Remy

So... I'm a little confused. I'm still new to the leopard gecko scene so I've been doing some research.

Having looked through the forums, explored threads and done google searches, it seems that most would say the idea temperature in the hot zone should be 95F.

Through my research I was also directed to a book called "The Herpetoculture of Leopard Geckos" by Philippe de Vosjoli, Ron Tremper and Roger Klingenberg, DVM. From what I understand, it's pretty much the bible of leopard gecko care, the ultimate care sheet. Granted, it is 5 years old.

Point is, in this book they state in the husbandry section:

"The ideal surface temperature for leopard geckos to thermoregulate is 86-90F (30-32C) with a background room temperature of 74-78F (23.5-25.5C). Temperatures over 91F (33C) should be avoided.

Comments?

roger

So... I'm a little confused. I'm still new to the leopard gecko scene so I've been doing some research.

Having looked through the forums, explored threads and done google searches, it seems that most would say the idea temperature in the hot zone should be 95F.

Through my research I was also directed to a book called "The Herpetoculture of Leopard Geckos" by Philippe de Vosjoli, Ron Tremper and Roger Klingenberg, DVM. From what I understand, it's pretty much the bible of leopard gecko care, the ultimate care sheet. Granted, it is 5 years old.

Point is, in this book they state in the husbandry section:

"The ideal surface temperature for leopard geckos to thermoregulate is 86-90F (30-32C) with a background room temperature of 74-78F (23.5-25.5C). Temperatures over 91F (33C) should be avoided.

Comments?

Although his book is informative everyones setup is different.Its been my experience that people on this forum keep their animals at 95 degrees.Does he say why over 91 degrees should be avoided.I have had leos for 25 yrs at 95 with no ill affects

robin