Thermostats

Tony C

Wayward Frogger
What do you mean by digital thermostat? If you are talking about a household thermostat they usually are not capable of running at the high temps reptiles require.

sammer021486

another thing to add to Tony's response is that a household thermostat is normally ran off of a different voltage, like 24V, compared to 120V from our wall outlets.

If you are looking for digital, the only ones that I know of are the Ranco, Johnson, Helix, and Herpstat.

softballstud_1099

ok thats why I was asking, I am not very good at electrical stuff so I thought I would ask. What about if I used a house hold thermostat to control temps in a homemade Leo incubator? Again guys thank you for your comments.

Brent

Tony C

Wayward Frogger
That may work, depending on the accuracy of the thermostat. Honestly though, you are better off buying a tried and true thermostat like a Ranco or Johnson, the cost is comparable to a decent quality home unit and you can order them ready to use, which is probably best if you are not electrically savvy.

sammer021486

ok thats why I was asking, I am not very good at electrical stuff so I thought I would ask. What about if I used a house hold thermostat to control temps in a homemade Leo incubator? Again guys thank you for your comments.

Brent

I would go with a helix or herpstat for a home made incubator. Had my car not just died I would have been purchasing a herpstat for my Hova.

softballstud_1099

Ok another guestion. I want to build an incubator out of a styrofoam container. I want to use a zoo med uth as the heat sorce. How do I control the heat of the zoo med uth?

Brent

sammer021486

Thanks guys for your input. I guess after looking at it I will get a johnson. thanks again

Brent

Both the Ranco and Johnson are good thermostats for controlling the temps in a leos cage. Just remember that they are ON/OFF thermostats