How can i improve heat valence very hot and cold aress?

gimpygecko

I have a glass fronted wooden vivarium 3ft in length set up currently with a deep heat lamp 50 watts at the hot end controlled by a habistat dimming thermometer and an arcadia uvb mini t5 shadedweller fitted. At the moment I am struggling to get difference of 1 -1.5°c between the hot and cold ends of the tank. I am only using reptile carpet at the moment as substrate with a simple slate environment. I am planning to move to a more bioactive construction soon using arid earthmix etc. Firstly will this help increase the temperature variance? Eg more plant matter etc to block heat. Is there also anything else i can do to increase the differential in the meantime? I understand the variance should ideally be more than <2° Humidity levels are fine atm and kept generally between 30% - 40% as recommended. I am new to gecko ownership so any advice would be extremely helpful.

Attachments

• IMG_20220820_153735.jpg
    IMG_20220820_153735.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 6

BLUSH50

I have a glass fronted wooden vivarium 3ft in length set up currently with a deep heat lamp 50 watts at the hot end controlled by a habistat dimming thermometer and an arcadia uvb mini t5 shadedweller fitted. At the moment I am struggling to get difference of 1 -1.5°c between the hot and cold ends of the tank. I am only using reptile carpet at the moment as substrate with a simple slate environment. I am planning to move to a more bioactive construction soon using arid earthmix etc. Firstly will this help increase the temperature variance? Eg more plant matter etc to block heat. Is there also anything else i can do to increase the differential in the meantime? I understand the variance should ideally be more than <2° Humidity levels are fine atm and kept generally between 30% - 40% as recommended. I am new to gecko ownership so any advice would be extremely helpful.