Incubation

What is your preferred incubation substrate?

• Total voters
R

retreat

Hi everyone,

The question is targeted at breeders that have had success in incubating AFT eggs, with a hatch rate lets say above 75%. Im wondering what is your preffered substrate? Vermiculite, perlite, sand, ground coconut?

I've had difficulties with vermiculite with eggs either collapsing or moulding.

Thanks for the feedback!

G

Gecko

I've used both vermaculite and perilite. Except for one year I've always had 90% or higher hatch rate.

If you loose a lot and your female is in good condition maybe you should try lowering the water content of your mix. Also I'd keep things so that at the coldest part of the night temps don't drop below 81.

L

LeopardGeckoMom52688

I am new to this breeding. I was reading this and was curious if someone could possibly give me some hints. I breed leopards but this will be my friend year with AFTS. I was curious on weight, temps to incubate, And his question what kind of substrate!

N

nike

i i take vermiculite

but i heard from a friend that he takes sermis

lytlesnake

Border Patrol Penguin
I just opened up the hovabator to put in a pair of freshly laid AFT eggs and found the 4 eggs that were already in there were collapsing. They're in vermiculite. Damn! I think since my house temperature has been pretty cold lately, the hovabator heat wafer has been on a lot, possibly causing the vermiculite in the tupperware to dry out too much. I should have kept them misted every few days I guess. From now on I'll do that.

So I buried the 4 eggs deeper and hopefully they'll re-plump. Or not, we'll see. It's also possible that my male AFT is sterile. Last year all my AFT eggs went bad too, but I chocked that up to undersized first year breeders.

I might invest in that Kemps Juragon incubator, or the Natures Spirit. I don't want my upcoming leo eggs to suffer the same fate.

N

Nigel4less

lytlesnake said: