New to a leopard gecko

LizardMomma

Hello everyone I am new to owning a leopard gecko, I’ve had beardies before but never a leopard gecko. I think my tank might be too small and I purchased like a hide hole cave but it seems he or she doesn’t like it. They won’t go in it should. I put it there incase it shredded but now I’m wondering if I should just put a have rock thing with some moss in it? Please help I thought I read enough research that it was safe to get one now I’m not soo sure. Penny(gecko) appreciates all the help you guys can give me.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 11

acpart

Geck-cessories
Staff member
Congrats on your gecko! It looks as if you have a 10 gallon tank there, right? If the gecko is a juvenile, that size is fine for now. A 20 gallon long (30x12x12") is better for an adult. The lights are fine, but not necessary as long as the room the gecko is in has visible daylight during the day (the leopard geckos, unlike you're beardies, is nocturnal). The heat pad is actually best on the outside bottom of the tank. The heat from the pad is vented either by using those little adhesive plastic feet that the pad comes with or putting some little wood shims or dominoes under each corner. At this time of the year, you may as well leave the pad where it is because once you pull it off, it won't work as well. It will probably need to have a thermostat if it doesn't already. When you get a new, larger tank, I recommend you get ZooMed heat cable (probably the 25' size) which you can tape under the tank according to the enclosed directions. I've found that Nashua tape (aluminum foil tape with adhesive on the back and baking paper that you peel off -- the roll is the same shape as duct tape and is sold at Home Depot or equivalent). That way you have the option of pulling it off and re-installing whenver you want. That can use the thermostat as well

Aliza

LizardMomma