UV lighting??

GothicGurrrl

Hey :)

I have another question for you all! lol, i bet my questions are getting a little annoying, but I'm a newbie keeper and I want to make sure everything is right so banana is healthy and happy :D better safe than sorry, i guess.

Well.. UV lighting? I have read everywhere that leopard gecko are nocturnal and do not require any lighting. If they do, its only to resemble day and night time so their natural sleep/wake patterns are met.
The pet store where I volunteer, and where I got my gecko, have always used a UV light for their leos. It's a lower wattage than you would use for day basking reptiles, like beardies. it's a 14 watt.

I didn't want to change her usual routine and surroundings so I got one. The women I work with said it will ensure her skin is healthy.

so....Is it okay? it won't stress her out or make her ill having a constant UV light in during the day?

LZRDGRL

You shouldn't use a UV light for a leopard gecko. The eyes of leopard geckos are light sensitive. They should never have daylight (blue light or white light). They also don't need it for their bones like other reptiles.

If you want lights to view him/her better, take the nocturnal infrared heat lamp for the day, and the black night light for the night. Here's a good link where to get them from: http://www.herpsupplies.com/subcategory.cfm?id=11&sub=33

They emit heat, so if your house cools down a bit in winter and the under-the-tank heater is not enough, your gecko will still be nice warm. I would recommend always to have a spare at home, because they burn out quite frequently.

If you already bought a UV light because the pet shop clerk gave you a wrong advice, exchange it for a red or black light ;)

Have fun with your gecko,

Chrissy

GothicGurrrl