2 problems with african fat-tailed gecko...

SpartanNamor

So, I'm an amateur owner, and I own a 2 year old male fat tailed gecko. He seems to have 2 problems with him right now.

First off, he has what appear to be indentations on the spot right behind his eyes, which I happened to notice today. these indents are quite large, and occur on both sides, and have the same shape. I thought it might be metabolic bone disease, but he doesn't seem to have any other symptoms of it.

Second, I noticed a few days ago 2 red dots on him. One was right on top of his tail, and the other was slightly above where his tail and body meet, on the top. But, today I also noticed that now there is now a small cluster of these red spots on his tail, as well as there being a red "band" of sorts directly on the line where his tail and body meet. These spots appear bright red, and do not bleed.

Any form of help would be appreciated greatly. Also please let me know if I'm doing anything wrong so I can fix it.

(I took a picture of the spots when I first noticed them, I might update the picture with the several spots on his tail. Also, he hasn't had any access to his UVB light in about a week due to expenses, and I figure that may be the root of the problem. Also the tail spot may be hard to see.)

image3.jpg

acpart

Geck-cessories
Staff member
I can see the tail spot. From what I can see, it looks more like an abrasion than just a spot. If that's not the case, maybe a few more pictures? The first sign of MBD is rubbery joints, and I don't think the indentations behind the eyes would signify MBD. If anything, it sounds a bit like dehydration. Although UVB isn't bad for an AFT, they are nocturnal so, depending on where they are when the light is on, they may not benefit much. I'm assuming you're also supplementing with calcium and vitamin D3? If those "spots" are abrasions, maybe he got them rubbing his shed off? I'm not sure otherwise.

Aliza

SpartanNamor