I'm the new Drum Major!

Stitchex

I'm still in disbelief! We had tryouts, and I traded first(we had to pick numbers out of a cup to see who got first) with one of my friends. I get nervous if I wait too long, so I just bit the bullet and did it right then and there. I only started studying for it the night before, seeing that I tried out last year, too. I made mistakes, but apparentally my music teacher thought I was the person for the job:D- and got the highest score. So, I get to conduct the whole band at the Christmas parade and a few concerts, and I get a cool uniform! White, with gold lining. I'm nervous when it comes to walking backwards, though. Does anyone have any tips while I'm walking backwards along the street, conducting the band, and trying to avoid horse poo? I feel so nervous and happy at the same time:main_laugh:

JordanAng420

CONGRATULATIONS Mary!
I was Drum Major in high school as well, and I loved it.
Let me give you a word of advice...when you're out there conducting...DON'T LOCK YOUR KNEES. You will pass out COLD. Trust me. It's no fun when YOU'RE the halftime show, being driven away in an ambulance. Keep your knees bent! But most importantly dude, have a BLAST! It's truly a rush being up on that podium doing your thing. Hey, make sure someone takes pictures at your next game, I would really love to see them!

JordanAng420

Oh yeah, and as far as walking backward, pace yourself. At first, you will feel the urge to rush...this is mostly due to nerves and eventually subsides. But make sure you watch your band, and the pace they're at...

Keep their attention by being unpredictable...make sure they are ALWAYS watching you and test them to be sure they are.